June 7, 2020

New Investigator Competition

Hear Shock’s New Investigators present their amazing science. These finalists were selected by the Awards and Honors Committee, based on scientific merit of the submitted abstracts. Finalists will present their work in a 10-minute presentation followed by a 5-minute Q&A period from the Awards and Honors Committee members.

June 8, 2020

Views from the NIGMS, Including the Sepsis Research Priorities

During this webinar, you will learn about the recommendations of the Working Group on Sepsis convened by NIGMS. The group will discuss the NIGMS Priorities for Sepsis Research and how they will be implemented. You will also learn more about the Request for Information on the Strategies to Support Acquisition and Use of Biospecimens for Research on Sepsis in Humans.

Sarah E. Dunsmore, Ph.D., Program Director, NIGMS, NIH
Rochelle M. Long, Ph.D., Division Director, NIGMS, NIH
Xiaoli Zhao, Ph.D., Program Director, NIGMS, NIH 

June 9, 2020

Your Society’s Town Hall
This is your chance to ask what you have always wanted to know and to get to know the officers of your Society.

Marc Jeschke, MD, Ph.D., Surgeon-Scientist and Professor, Department of Surgery and Immunology, University of Toronto
Laurie Kilpatrick, Ph.D., Professor of Physiology, Department of Thoracic Medicine and Surgery, Temple University
Melanie Scott, MD, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Surgery, Department of Surgery, University of Pittsburgh
Irshad Chaudry, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Surgery, Microbiology, Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Philip Efron, MD, Professor of Surgery and Anesthesiology, University of Florida College of Medicine
Serena G. Weisman, CAE, Executive Director, Shock Society

Battles and Successes in the Beginning of Your Career: Tackling the K award
The Shock Society is excited to present a panel of early-stage investigators that have K award funding to learn about the battles and successes in their academic careers thus far. They will tackle how to secure K funding while at a small institution, the experience and advice they received that influenced their ability to get funded, and the values and failures of finding additional funding while being a K awardee. Each panelist will highlight their work in a 10-minute presentation, followed by a 30-minute Q&A session.

Vanessa Nomellini, MD, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Surgery, University of Cincinnati 
Lucy Z. Kornblith, MD, Assistant Professor, Division of General Surgery , University of California San Francisco
Jon D. Simmons, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, University of South Alabama

December 17, 2020

Rethinking Sepsis: The Odyssey Continues
by Dr. John Marshall

Dr. John Marshall is a Professor of Surgery at the University of Toronto, and a Trauma Surgeon and Intensivist at St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto, Canada.  His academic interests are sepsis, trauma, and the innate immune response.  His laboratory studies the cellular mechanisms that prolong neutrophil survival in critical illness by preventing neutrophil programmed cell death, or apoptosis.  Professor Marshall has an active clinical research interest in sepsis and Intensive Care Unit-acquired infection, and in the design of clinical trials and outcome measures.  He has published 315 manuscripts, and 80 book chapters, and is the editor of 2 books.  He is the founding chair of the International Forum of Acute Care Trialists (InFACT) – a global network of investigator-led critical care clinical research groups, Secretary-General of the World Federation of Societies of Intensive and Critical Care Medicine, and vice-chair of the International Severe Acute Respiratory Infections Consortium.  He is past-chair of the International Sepsis Forum, past-President of the Surgical Infection Society, and past-chair of the Canadian Critical Care Trials Group.  He has given invited lectures at more than 460 meetings around the world, and is a member of the editorial boards of seven journals.

January 12, 2021

Updates in Molecular Phenotyping of ARDS
by Dr. Carolyn Calfee, MD

Carolyn S. Calfee, MD MAS is Professor of Medicine and Anesthesia at the University of California, San Francisco, where she attends in the intensive care units. Her primary academic focus is the pathogenesis and treatment of the acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). Current research projects include: (1) molecular subphenotypes of ARDS and precision medicine in critical care; (2) the role of environmental exposures including smoking, air pollution, and novel tobacco products in susceptibility to lung injury; and (3) novel treatments for ARDS. During the COVID-19 pandemic, she has been the UCSF clinical lead and steering committee member for the NIAID-funded Immunophenotyping Assessment in a COVID-19 Cohort (IMPACC) study and she is one of the lead PI’s for the ISPY COVID clinical trial, a Phase 2 adaptive platform clinical trial of novel treatments for COVID-19 associated ARDS.

February 8, 2021

Serendipity, Curiosity, and Dogged Persistence....Research Made Easy
by Dr. Mervyn Singer

Mervyn Singer is Professor of Intensive Care Medicine at University College London, UK. His research focusses primarily on sepsis, tissue oxygenation, shock, and novel monitoring techniques. He was the first intensivist to be awarded Senior Investigator status by the UK National Institute for Health Research, is current Chair of the International Sepsis Forum, co-led the ‘Sepsis-3’ international taskforce (with a certain C Deutschman Esq), and has authored/edited various textbooks including the Oxford Handbook of Critical Care and Oxford Textbook of Critical Care.